Bueno Weekends

korea

20160820_18562520160821_131435_Pano

Finally done with the super loaded month of classes called intensives. Where the parents aren’t sure what to do with kids during summer so we add more classes to the schedule. So the kids can spend the entire summer in school.So waking up early and doing a fair bit more classes is finally done! Including this past weekend I had some good weekends during and after intensives.

So last weekend I went to a boxing match. It was way better than the first one I went to. I went because one of the trainers I made the logo for his gym. That’s who is in the first picture. It was pretty cool to see it on shirts and see a bunch of people wearing them. Unfortunately our boxer lost but it was a great fight to watch! There were like 3 others that were also really entertaining.

After the boxing match we left and went to go watch the Bears stomp Nexen. Something like 8-1. I watched it with my friend from Jeju who I met like the 2nd week I was here when I went to the fire festival. It was a pretty active day.

This past weekend though was the most fun! i went to Jeju and stayed at a guest house my friend was staying at. Not the one from the baseball game though he couldn’t make it :(. Either way stayed at a guest house and met some very friendly and cool Koreans. They were super nice and there was a very funny couple there. Everyone but me actually lived in Jeju.

In the first couple hours I was there we went snorkeling with the gang. Couldn’t get off to a better start. It seemed like a proper vacation. Almost movie like with the characters that were with us.  I only had Saturday night there but it was super cool being able to drive around with them and explore the island. Ended up having a super fun night with everyone. I think authenticity is a thing that’s a goal but is still hard to experience. When it happens it’s great and I think this whole weekend checked all the boxes.

As for What I did Saturday I got picked up at the airport and went to a fish restaurant and embarrassed my self because I don’t know how to separate the meat and bones. All was good because I got plenty of help. The one I struggles with was the 1st on the left, the rectangle one. The best part of it though was the fish on the far right. It was a lot easier to eat but it also tasted better in general.

1471784611585

After that went to the guest house and laid down for a bit. Changed clothes and went snorkeling at a place only a few minutes walk away. With the people who were at the house. Which was 6 of us. it was pretty cool, I have only done it once before I think. Only saw a few fish but in general it was great to finally swim.

Eventually we went out to eat and had some Japanese food as appetizers because they didn’t actually have what we were looking for. When we were travelling around it didn’t feel like I was a tour or just a 3rd party along for the ride. I felt a lot more in tune with what was going on. We went through a bunch of country roads and to some secluded places. It reminded me of being back In Elkins. Although a lot more tropical. We ended up going to a BBQ place who the couple I was driving with liked because they were friends with the owner I guess. There we just ended up doing the normal bbq routine. Fortunately for everyone I broke out my “Korean” as the day went along.

20160821_122448

The olleh(?) path marker that goes around the coast

20160821_124024

final destination ^

20160821_125917

Bad timing.

20160821_131341

At ze top.

On Sunday we did a lot of driving around in the morning. We were trying to find places to swim but high tide is a thing so we couldn’t. We dropped a girl from Busan off at the bus stop then kept out search. My friend and I came to the conclusion that hey maybe we should do something else. So they decided to take me to the place in the pictures whose name I forget. Since no one told me that we were going to be walking up something I only had embarrassingly small sandals to wear. Look at those tiny things in the 3rd picture. Regardless we got to the top. 20160821_131435_PanoI’m not sure the picture does it justice but it was incredibly pretty at the top. The sky is noticeably cleaner and you could see for miles. And tiny Mountains littered the Horizon. Very cool stuff. We wen’t to eat some raw fish in a fruit sauce that was sooooo sweet.

Since the ocean calmed down a bit it was back to swimming! So we wen’t to a beach we wanted to go to earlier and played around like morons in the waves. Fun stuff. The highlight was 2 guys from the house came with their surf board. So they taught me how to surf! I didn’t think that would happen before I came to Jeju but it did! Go figure I was bad. But I almost stood up twice which I’ll mark as a victory. It was a pretty sweet experience and one that’d I’d like to repeat.

for the most part that was the end of my trip. I just took a shower then we rushed off to eat some black pig which is a Jeju specialty thing. It was good, but maybe we rushed it a bit to much! The air port was packed so I was worried I might miss the flight! Like really worried, but I got to the gate with 12 or so minutes to spare(whew).

carolinepicture11x172 [Recovered].jpg

I’m working on this for Caroline. There are a number of thing’s I want to improve but this is what I have so far. Should be done soon.

 

And that’s that!

Leave a Reply

