Mayday!Mayday!

korea

A lot of my time is going through the motions, and I realize I’ve calmed down quite a bit compared to when I was first here. I remember wanting to go somewhere every weekend and If I wasn’t out of my apartment by like 1 every Saturday it felt like my time was dripping away. Since then I’ve been in a way better apartment, and things have definitely slowed down. I don’t know when the change happens, but I blame winter.

I’m trying to think of anything exciting that has happened since my birthday weekend in Vietnam. Off the top of my head I can’t think of anything. Then I go through my pictures and realize how wrong I am.

20170422_173640

It’s baseball season again so I went with my friends to see a game between the Twins and Tigers. It was the first time I have ever gone here when it was PACKED even the last few games of the season weren’t this bad. We didn’t even get a seat. We ended up not even sitting in real sits and found ourselves on the stairs. It wasn’t ideal. 1494892239952[1]

On top of that the Twins lost and the visiting side was much louder. On the other hand I did get some pictures with random people. If that isn’t a win I don’t know what is.

20170429_165730

Later I went to Naksan park after getting some tacos and walking around in Hyehwa at Dos Tacos.  Hyehwa’s a pretty cool area and is probably worth going back too. It’s a pretty active area and has a ton of tiny theaters. However that’s not where I ended up for the rest of the day. Like I said I went to the park. It’s one of my favorite places because it’s an easy walk that starts somewhere cool and ends somewhere cool. It also has some pretty views.

20170429_165945

20170429_170041

The flowers are out!

20170429_17051620170429_170520

It follows the old Seoul walls. Then goes up a ridge so you can look out a bit.

20170429_17160520170429_173024Ihwa mural village is in the middle of the walk. Do you like going to cafes? If so it’d be a good place to go. If You don’t really care about cafe’s then it is probably avoidable. It is however pretty and you don’t lose anything by walking through it.

20170429_175041

Dongdaemun!

20170503_222256

This building is probably a spaceship.

20170505_154138I did two things last weekend that were pretty fun. I saw a B-Boy show which I have wanted to do for awhile. Was it as crazy as I was hoping? No. But it was pretty fun. I don’t usually get to see people break dance at an actual competent level. It was a good way to spend the afternoon for sure.

However the coolest thing I did that same weekend was watch people play Starcraft. Can’t think of anywhere else that I could do this and E-sports is just so Korean. Basically the home of the whole concept. It was a cool thing to go to. It wasn’t crazy crowded but there were people. Better yet it was free! There are tournaments that cost money and fill out some big venues. This wasn’t a tourney and from what I could tell was just normal league play. So it was free! It was easy to get to, and was on the 2nd floor of some unsuspecting office building.

It happened in a studio and had some good camerawork to make it all look a bit bigger and more crowded. So again everything was free. You got an energy drink, free earphones and a radio thing so you can listen to the English broadcast. At times I had no idea what was happening and I had no idea when it was going to end but it was a fun time.

20170506_12512320170506_135859

1494892097120[1]

After that I went to Coex in a surprise ran into a Moon Jae-in rally. The guy even showed up eventually! So that was a pleasant unexpected surprise. Three days later the guy would be elected president.

20170506_175444

That’s him. Right there!

20170507_213601

I also got diabetes at Shake Shack the next day. There is a new location in Dongdaemun. It’s a ton less popular the Gangnam location which is always packed with people for no other reason than it’s in Gangnam. Also Dongdaemun is half an hour closer.

In hockey news we just played the last game of the regular season. Playoffs begin this Sunday. Out team is pretty good and finished 3rd overall. I think we can pull it off. 20170430_135403

What made them decide to wear this stuff…

I was hoping it could be Twice’s new song, but it is terrible.

Leave a Reply

