Spaghetti or Dumaguete?

I bet this place looks different now huh? I gave it a bit of an upgrade because I ran out of space. So if you were wondering why it’s been super quite here that’s why. I have also added a picture section, you should see it in the menu now. It isn’t 100percento what I want, but I was realizing that hey, most of the pictures on here aren’t anywhere else. And i’ll be damned if I have to scroll through years of posts to see something. Also I will use the opportunity to just upload things there from time to time if I don’t feel like making a post for it. So check back in every now and then.

 

I guess the most noteworthy event to happen since the last post was that my birthday happened. I turned 27! which is weird. I know I’m not old, but life better start slowing down soon. I went to a baseball game in Tokyo to see the Giants play and lose to a rival Tokyo team whose name I don’t remember because they sux. If/when I go again I would spend the extra buckaroos to sit in the more exciting area. Although it is a bit harder to get tickets there.

 

Wheres that? It’s Kamakura!

To save you a Google:

Kamakura (鎌倉市 Kamakura-shi) is a city in Kanagawa PrefectureJapan. Although Kamakura proper is today rather small, it is often described in history books as a former de facto capital of Japan, the nation’s most populous settlement from 1200 to 1300 AD,[1] as the seat of the shogunate and of the Regency during the Kamakura period. Kamakura was designated as a city on November 3, 1939.

It should be obvious, but I went here at night which was interesting in its own way. But I in no way did the area justice. First of all, nearly everything was closed. I’m pretty sure the shutters of the shops followed the path of the sun. However the streets at looked promising and were begging for me to return. There is also a lot of trails with other various temples scattered throughout the area that I wasn’t able to see. Fortuneteller it is not very far away from me. So it isn’t too unrealistic to have a part 2 come up in the near future.

Yokohama,

Yup, still going to Yokohama. If you are anything like me you never heard the name of this city at all. However it is pretty legit. Lots to do and it is quite big. Not like kinda big, it is big.

Yokohama (Japanese横浜  Yokohama is the second largest city in Japan by population and the most populous municipality of Japan. It is the capital city of Kanagawa Prefecture. It lies on Tokyo Bay, south of Tokyo, in the Kantō region of the main island of Honshu. It is a major commercial hub of the Greater Tokyo Area.

Yokohama’s population of 3.7 million makes it Japan’s largest city. Yokohama developed rapidly as Japan’s prominent port city following the end of Japan’s relative isolation in the mid-19th century, and is today one of its major ports along with KobeOsakaNagoyaHakata, Tokyo, and Chiba.

Am I wrong but do the first sentences contradict each other? Either way the place is big, and despite totally being off my radar before getting here. It is where I am starting to gravitate to when I can. It is closer than Tokyo by like 30 mins and it checks off all of the wandering feels. Apparently there is a jazz scene here too. Which I swear I will investigate. Preferably on a pay day. 

 

There are some really nice areas over here, and it’ll probably be my stomping grounds for a while. 

 

I also went to the Tsukiji fishs market up in Tokyo. I’m not saying I got lost, but I did  fall asleep on the train and miss my stop then got on the wrong one going the other way. So I ended up walking an hour or so to find it. Was it worth the effort though? Probably not. In fact the little walk there might have been more interesting. Not don’t get me wrong could you have fun there? Probably. But risking sounding like a douche, there are too many people in general. It as almost impossible to move and besides quite a few sea food restaurants it is kinda, if not very much like or less interesting than other fish markets elsewhere in the world. Can’t say it was very special. 

 

Oh look Yokosuka. I have been walking around the area more and more.I still don’t think I have unlocked the potential of pretty much anywhere yet but it will come. That being said Yokosuka has some really interesting streets and the way it is stacked onto itself is mesmerizing. Now what is there to do here is another question itself.

More importantly I have found an arcade by me that doesn’t blow chunks.

 

What I’m going to do with these things has yet to be decided. But the point is I have them and will get more.

img_20190502_181904

This was taken when we were out in Tokyo Bay.  I don’t think the picture captures it, but this had to be one of the most surreal scenes i have experienced.